About us


Studia Krytyczne / Critical Studies is open access online bilingual (Polish and English) academic journal, rigorously peer reviewed that publishes original research and review articles in the social sciences and humanities.

It is the journal´s mission to encourage fresh perspectives and unconventional ideas, and connect exprienced academics and young scholars in inspiring reflections.

Journal analyzes world and local politics, the global economy, protest movements, contemporary social theory, history, philosophy and culture.

Studia Krytyczne / Critical Studies is a multidisciplinary journal that is open to contributions from all disciplines and approaches that critically and with a focus on power structures analyze the  contemporary societies. It analyzes the important developments of our time and applies a framework unconstrained by divisions into politics, sociology, economics, gender studies, philosophy or history. 


We publish both theoretical and empirical research. Each issue includes both in-depth papers and a book reviews section.

Journal is published twice a year and considers articles for publication all year round.


Submissions to the journal are welcome, but please consult the submission guidelines before sending in an article or book review.



Editorial board



Sławomir Czapnik (editor-in-chief)


Mariusz Baranowski (associate editor)


Magdalena Ozimek (editorial secretary)



Thematic editors



Piotr Jabkowski (statistical editor)


Agnieszka Jeran (sociology)


Anna Perkowska-Klejman (pedagogy)


Rafał Nawrocki (language editor - Polish)



Advisory board



Zygmunt Bauman (University of Leeds)


Tony Blackshaw (Sheffield Hallam University) 


Adam Chmielewski (University of Wrocław)


Harry Cleaver (University of Texas at Austin)


Mark Davis (University of Leeds)


Norman Fairclough (Lancaster University) 


Andrzej W. Jabłoński (Universty of Wrocław)


Jochen Franzke (University of Potsdam)


Christian Fuchs (University of Westminster)


Henry A. Giroux (McMaster University)


Jane Hardy (University of Hertfordshire)


Wojciech Kajtoch (Uniwersytet Jagielloński)


Mirosław Karwat (University of Warsaw)


Robert W. McChesney (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)


Kikuko Nagayoshi (Tohoku University)


Tadeusz Klementewicz (University of Warsaw)


Lars Mjøset (University of Oslo)


Jacek Tittenbrun (Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań)






Anna Odrowaz-Coates (The Maria Grzegorzewska University)

Theodore Chadjipandelis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)

Piotr Cichocki (Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań) 

Janusz Jartyś (University of Szczecin)